The MoCP is a premier college art museum dedicated to photography. As an international hub, we generate ideas and provoke dialogue among students, artists and diverse communities through groundbreaking exhibitions and programming. Our mission is to cultivate a deeper understanding of the artistic, cultural and political roles of photography in our world today.

Founded in 1976 by Columbia College Chicago as the successor to the Chicago Center for Contemporary Photography, the Museum of Contemporary Photography began collecting in the early 1980s and has since grown its collection to include over 17,000 objects by over 1,950 artists. The MoCP is accredited by the American Alliance of Museums.

Get Involved

There are many ways to join the MoCP community: by becoming a Friend of the MoCP, attending our Annual Benefit, or joining the Museum Council.

Advisory Board

Julia Langdon Antonatos
Lisa Bailey
Michael Belsley
Dawoud Bey
Suzette Bross
Veronique Bushala
Marcella David
Josh Goldman
John Hass

Thomas (Ted) E. Keim, Jr.
Beth Kohl
Gary I. Levenstein
Henok Misgina
Maggie Meiners
Carlos Javier Ortiz
Nina Owen
Richard S. Press

Larry Ross
Lisa Sandquist
Ross Sawyers
David Weinberg
Helena Chapellin Wilson
Robert Wislow, Chair
Genia Yovankin
Danielle Dunand Zimmerman


We invite you to join our talented faculty and staff and become part of our collective aspiration to ensure Columbia prepares students for success in their creative fields through innovation, engagement and real-world experiences.

Faculty Initiatives

As an academic art museum at Columbia College Chicago, the MoCP works closely with the college’s faculty to connect its resources with students on campus.

Faculty Advisory Committee

Janell Baxter, Interactive Arts and Media
Robert Blandford, Business & Entrepreneurship
Sharon Bloyd-Peshkin, Communication
Kelli Connell, Photography
Matthew Cunningham, Communication
Joan Giroux, Art and Art History
Robert Hanserd, History
Onur Öztürk, Art and Art History

Museum Staff

Solome Bezuneh
Community Engagement Fellow

Stephanie Conaway
Director of Operations

Natasha Egan
Executive Director

Karen Irvine
Chief Curator and Deputy Director

Emily Mohney
Collections Manager and Registrar emohney@colum.edu

Heather Owens
Manager of Marketing and Community Engagement

Jaclyn Silverman
Development Manager

Kristin Taylor
Curator of Academic Programs and Collections

Patrick Thornton
Administrative Assistant and Shop Manager

Student Staff, January 2024

Ren Andujar 

Hiwot Ayele-Schutz 

Mars Colbert 

Dylan Connell

Elizabeth Daramola

Sage Eubanks

Noah Fodor

Zayden German

Kyli Hawks

Ash Huse

Hillary Johnson

Dani Lioce

Seamus MacFarland

Zoey Marciniak

Giselle Mira Diaz

Paige Nehmzow

Kamryn Pate

Marley Pleines

Cameron Rosenthal

Willem Siersma

Deanna Whitlow

Judson Womack